Moraine Valley Community College || Fine and Performing Arts Center - Home

Ticket Icon Email Icon Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Email Icon



Moraine Valley Community College invites you to our Fine and Performing Arts Center for our 21st season filled with music, dance, theater, and art for all ages. We’re pleased to bring you another outstanding lineup of concerts and special events in our 600-seat Dorothy Menker Theater, our intimate John and Angeline Oremus Theater, and our Robert F. DeCaprio Art Gallery. Join us!

July 2014

Jazz Ensemble
Hot Summer Jazz

Friday, July 25, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

Chorale and Chamber Singers
Summer Patriotic Concert

Saturday, July 26, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater


Percussion Ensemble
Summer Concert

Tuesday, July 29, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

Measure for Measure
By William Shakespeare

July 31-Aug. 2, 7 p.m.

Outdoors at the Gateway



August 2014

Taehoon Kim
Ten Kids Return

Aug. 11-Sept. 18

Reception: Thursday, Sept. 4, 3-5 p.m.
Artist talk at 3:30 p.m.

Barbara Diener
Sehnsucht

Aug. 11-Oct. 23

Reception: Thursday, Sept. 4, 3-5 p.m.
Artist talk at 4 p.m.



September 2014

Spider’s Speakeasy: Celebrating the Songs of the 1920s Featuring Spider Saloff and Trio

Sept. 14, 2 p.m. and 5:30 p.m.

John and Angeline Oremus Theater

Carol Brookes
SLANT: New Works by Carol Brookes

Sept. 22-Oct. 23

Reception: Thursday, Sept. 25, 3-5 p.m.
Artist talk at 3:30 p.m.


Chita: A Legendary Celebration

Saturday, Sept. 27, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater




October 2014

Ensemble Español Spanish Dance Theatre

Saturday, Oct. 4, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

Paul Marinaro: Without a Song

Sunday, Oct. 5
2 p.m. and 5:30 p.m.

John and Angeline Oremus Theater


The Great American Songbook
Chorale and Chamber Singers

Saturday, Oct. 11, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

PUSH Physical Theatre

Saturday, Oct. 18, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater


Fall Concert | Flute Choir

Friday, Oct. 24, 7 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

Jazz Faculty Showcase

Sunday, Oct. 26, 3 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater


Millee Tibbs
From the Mountains

Oct. 27-Nov. 24

Reception: Thursday, Oct. 30
Artist talk at 3:30 p.m.

Cabaret

Oct. 30-Nov. 9

John and Angeline Oremus Theater
Book by Joe Masteroff
Based on the play by John Van Druten and Stories by Christopher Isherwood
Music by John Kander | Lyrics by Fred Ebb Broadway production directed by Harold Prince Produced for the Broadway Stage by Harold Prince Directed by Dr. Craig Rosen



November 2014

Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference Jazz Festival

Saturday, Nov. 15 | 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Join us for a morning of performances and much more with eight terrific jazz big bands from the College of Lake County, Elgin Community College, McHenry Community College, Moraine Valley Community College, Morton College, Oakton Community College, Prairie State College, and Waubonsee Community College.

Ethel Merman’s Broadway starring Rita McKenzie

Saturday, Nov. 22, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater



December 2014

MVCC Art Faculty Exhibition
New Work

Dec. 1-23

Reception: Thursday, Dec. 4, 3-5 p.m.
Artist talk at 3:30 p.m.

Holiday Concert | Jazz Ensemble

Friday, Dec. 5, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater


Merry Christmas Music
Chorale and Chamber Singers

Saturday, December 6, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

10th Anniversary Holiday Concert
Concert Band

Sunday, Dec. 7, 3 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater
10th Anniversary Performance!


10th Anniversary Holiday Extravaganza | Percussion Ensemble

Thursday, Dec. 11, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

Jim Witter’s Christmas Memories

Saturday, Dec. 13, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater


Alan Safier as Scrooge…and everyone else…in Humbug!

Thursday, Dec. 18, 7:30 p.m.
Dorothy Menker Theater

Lyrics by Sheldon Harnick (Fiddler on the Roof) Music by Michel Legrand (Yentl)



January 2015

Benjamin Entner | Sumus

Jan. 5-Feb. 5

Reception: Thursday, Jan. 15, 3-5 p.m.
Artist talk at 3:30 p.m.

The Second City Hits Home

Saturday, Jan. 24, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater



February 2015

The Hills are Alive with the Sounds of Julie Featuring Laura Freeman

Sunday, Feb. 8, 2 p.m. and 5:30 p.m.

John and Angeline Oremus Theater

David Linneweh and Hans Haberger
Reconstructed Landscapes

Feb. 9-March 7

Reception: Thursday, Feb. 12, 3-5 p.m.
Artist talk at 3:30 p.m.


Harvey

Feb. 19-22

By Mary Chase | Directed by Dan Scott
Dorothy Menker Theater

Music, Sing, Music!
Chorale and Chamber Singers

Saturday, Feb. 28, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater




March 2015

Music Faculty Showcase

Sunday, March 1, 3 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

Macbeth | By William Shakespeare

Monday, March 2, 7 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater
Reading by: Shakespeare Project of Chicago


Salute to the Great Voices of Jazz

Friday, March 6, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

Well-Strung

Saturday, March 7, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater


31st Annual High School Art Exhibition

March 11-18

Reception: TBA

Spring Concert | Flute Choir

Friday, March 20, 7 p.m.

John and Angeline Oremus Theater


Giordano Dance Chicago

Saturday, March 21, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

Christine Wuenschel
Body Contact, Drawings by Christine Wuenschel

March 23-April 24

Reception: Thursday, March 26, 3-5 p.m.
Artist talk at 3:30 p.m.


Concert Band

Friday, March 27, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

Sister’s Easter Catechism: Will My Bunny Go to Heaven?

March 28, 3 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater



April 2015

New York Gilbert & Sullivan Players in “The Mikado”

Friday, April 10, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

MVCC Juried Student Art Exhibition

April 27-May 21

Reception/Awards: Thursday, April 30, 3-5 p.m.


A Day in the Death of Joe Egg

April 24-May 3

John and Angeline Oremus Theater
By Peter Nichols | Directed by Dr. Craig Rosen
Thursday-Saturday, 7:30 p.m.; Sunday at 3 p.m.



May 2015

Spring Concert | Jazz Ensemble

Friday, May 1, 7:30 p.m.

Broadway/Pop/Motion Picture Spectacular!
Moraine Chorale and Chamber Singers

Saturday, May 2, 7:30 p.m.


10th Anniversary Spring Concert: Presenting Music for "Kids" of All Ages!

Sunday, May 3, 3 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

10th Anniversary Spring Concert Spectacular | Percussion Ensemble

Thursday, May 7, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater



The Mystical Arts of Tibet: Sacred Music/Sacred Dance for World Healing

Saturday, May 9, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

Sondheim: The Songs That Got Away Featuring Tommy Hensel

Sunday, May 17, 2 p.m. and 5:30 p.m.

John and Angeline Oremus Theater


Gallery 2015 Juried Community Art Exhibition

May 28-July 30

Reception/Awards Saturday, May 30. 1-3 p.m.
Summer Hours: Mon-Thurs 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m.



July 2015

Swingin' Summer Jazz!

Friday, July 24, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater

Summer 2015 Patriotic Concert

Saturday, July 25, 7:30 p.m.

Dorothy Menker Theater


The Tempest
By William Shakespeare
Directed by Dr. Craig Rosen

July 30-Aug. 1, 2015, 7:30 p.m.

Outdoors at the Gateway